Much Ado About Nothing: Richard Sherman’s Post-Game Interview

Another, somewhat more balanced view of the Richard Sherman “kerfuffle.”

2 Dope Sistahs

I watched last week’s NFC Championship game between the Seattle Seahawks and the San Francisco 49ers. At the end of the 4th quarter, with his team down by 6 points, 49ers’ quarterback Colin Kaepernick drove his team down the field. But the 49ers’ comeback was thwarted when a pass thrown to wide receiver Michael Crabtree was tipped by Seahawks’ cornerback Richard Sherman to linebacker Malcolm Smith. Interception. At that point, as far as I was concerned, the game was over. “My” team was going to lose (23-17), so I changed the channel.

Later, when I was on Twitter, I began to see references to Richard Sherman’s post-game interview. (I remember the announcers discussing Sherman’s path from Compton-to Stanford University-to the NFL during a game earlier in the season, but, to be perfectly honest, I didn’t know him from Adam.) Some were attacking his so-called “classless” behavior, calling him a “thug,” an “ape,” and even a “nigger.” Others…

View original post 434 more words

Leave a Reply

