I’m coming clean.

OK. Today is the last day of the month. You know how much I love do-overs and I want a chance to make something  right. It is the birthday of one of the most prolific authors AND the most well-known characters in bookdom. Which brings me to the point of my post. Today is not only the birthday of J.K. Rowling, but also of her ubiquitous creation Harry Potter. She decided to give him the same birthday as her. Pretty cool I think. And now for the confession: My name is Will, I am a teacher and a writer, and I have never read one of the Harry Potter books. There. Now don’t judge me. I just haven’t gotten around to it. I started the first book, which debuted in 1997 and for a variety of reasons didn’t get to finish it. I am not a super fan of the fantasy genre anyway, so allowed myself to be drawn away to my nonfiction books, which I prefer. Once the other books came out, I couldn’t read them without having read the others first, so the hole kept getting bigger. Then the movies started coming out. I just got overwhelmed by the sheer volume of material and having to overcome my inertia. Now the series is finished and over the years I have come to respect Ms. Rowling and her work and how it has affected people. At the time, I was not a freelance writer. Now I have a different lens through which to see her and her writing. Her own personal story of triumph over an impoverished life and her determination in the face of rejection to prevail has given me the impetus to go back and read them all. Also, many of the students I have taught over the years began a love of reading as a result of their exposure to these books (or have only read these books). Either way, it is a literary feat I can no longer ignore, if only for its inspirational impact. Today, I declare myself a fan and I will that I shall read them all—from cover to cover. I look forward to offering my support to a fellow author and hope that I can get the same someday. Thanks J.K. for hanging in there.

3 thoughts on “I’m coming clean.

  1. I grew up with Harry Potter, and I envy your ability to now experience it for the first time. The books have plenty of emotional impact that goes beyond mere fantasy and magic, so I think you will find something in the series to connect to. I hope you enjoy them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

