“It’s Elementary my dear Watson!”

As we get older it seems that people and times and events just all sort of begin to meld together into one long continuous “life-thing.” Oftentimes, however, things happen that become clear and definable moments where decisions are made and resolve is formed. One of those moments for me was in what used to be called Jr. High School.

I was in 8th grade and I was cast in a play as the detective Sherlock Holmes. I was taken with the whole creative process of acting, directing, creating sets, etc. and thus began a life-long relationship with the theater arts specifically and the creative arts generally. Furthermore, not only did I begin to read all of the short stories and novels, I watched every cinematic incarnation of the ubiquitous sleuth ever created on film or television (Maybe not, but I’ve seen a lot of them!)  It is very likely the reason I eventually became a writer.

It was around that time that I also won a creative writing award from a contest sponsored by the Scottish Rite. (Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, creator of Sherlock Holmes, was born in Edinburgh, Scotland! ) That, too, was a very meaningful and very affirming occurrence in my history.

So today I lift my glass to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, fellow author and inspiration.

Not only it is very clear to me that this episode in my past had a lot to do with my present…

It’s Elementary.

Leave a Reply

