Nobody knows the trouble Japan will see: earthquakes, tsunamis, and nuclear fallout

The sorrow and sympathy I feel for the people of Japan is not merely philosophical, but personal. You see, I spent some time living in Japan. I lived in Yokosuka and in a lesser known town called Shin-Otsu, a brief train ride from the larger more well-known city. I got to also visit Tokyo several times. I found the Japanese people and culture so endearing and engaging that for a time right after that and periodically since I have considered living there. As a teacher, I have often thought of going back there to teach English in one of the many programs for educators. They really do have down how to live, work, and play together without much trouble and outward conflict. I wish them the best in this terrible time and send them all my prayers. Whatever happens, I am sure they will work together to overcome this tragedy.

Leave a Reply

