Fast Food Forays–tipping

As you may already know I eat out a lot. I went to a restaurant today that is regularly a “sit-down” restaurant, but used their drive-up take-out services instead. Most restaurants have or are going toward this feature. I also have eaten at drive up restaurants that now have a tip jar actually in the drive-up window. Now, I am not a cheapie when it comes to tipping. In fact, I have a friend who is a waitress who has trained me to tip no matter what the service because she says it is a difficult and low paying gig with ofttimes churlish patrons…so I do in her honor and at her impassioned request. But I am confused at times about how far it should go. Do I tip someone who simply brings an order to a window or to the register after I have gotten out of my car and come into the restaurant to pick up my order? Should I still give extra money for a cup of coffee that I order at a window and drive around and pick up? I haven’t talked to my friend about that and wonder what others think about that. I have a feeling that the answer depends on your job and whether you have a waitress or someone else who depends on tips for their livelihood. FYI, in case you didn’t know, tip is an acronym for “To Insure Promptness.”

Leave a Reply

