Proof that I haven’t done enough things or met enough people.

I have a very dear friend. A few weeks ago her father died suddenly and she sent me and several others an email to let us know and to put out a call for pallbearers. I had never done that before or been asked and since she was such a good friend of mine I responded immediately and without really thinking about it. I am glad I did it, but if you have never been a pallbearer before…they are heavy! Real heavy. No one thinks about that except the people carrying it and the people out there who have done it before. I am adding being a pallbearer to my bucket list…after the fact. You can do that can’t you?

The funeral was presided over by the funniest minister I think I’ve ever listed to. I was concerned at first and just a little put off, but he did a great job and I found out later that my friend had specifically asked for a service that focused on life and love and laughter. She did not want a lugubrious affair. And he delivered beautifully.

Finally. I now know why I like my friend so much. People always speak well of the deceased at a memorial service, but the words and sentiments that came from those who knew him was phenomenal. Those words combined with the life of his daughter gave me a small glimpse into the life of the man whose name is…Noble Dance. Really.

People often wonder what to put on their tombstones or grave markers–I’d love for people to say that my life was a “noble dance.”

P.S. I held it together until they played “Dance with My Father Again” by Luther Vandross. In case you don’t know it, here are the words:

Back when I was a child
Before life removed all the innocence
My father would lift me high
And dance with my mother and me and then

Spin me around till I fell asleep
Then up the stairs he would carry me
And I knew for sure
I was loved

If I could get another chance
Another walk, another dance with him
I’d play a song that would never, ever end
How I’d love, love, love to dance with my father again

Ooh, ooh

When I and my mother would disagree
To get my way I would run from her to him
He’d make me laugh just to comfort me, yeah, yeah
Then finally make me do just what my mama said

Later that night when I was asleep
He left a dollar under my sheet
Never dreamed that he
Would be gone from me

If I could steal one final glance
One final step, one final dance with him
I’d play a song that would never, ever end
‘Cause I’d love, love, love to dance with my father
again

Sometimes I’d listen outside her door
And I’d hear her, mama cryin’ for him
I pray for her even more than me
I pray for her even more than me

I know I’m prayin’ for much too much
But could You send back the only man she loved
I know You don’t do it usually
But Lord, she’s dyin’ to dance with my father again
Every night I fall asleep
And this is all I ever dream

by Luther Vandross and Richard N. Marx

3 thoughts on “Proof that I haven’t done enough things or met enough people.

  1. Can you believe this story?

    I had to share this with everyone.

    (NewsCore)

    A WOMAN’S breast implants have saved her life after she was caught in the line of fire and shot at point-blank range with a semi-automatic assault rifle.

    The Sun reports Lydia Carranza’s silicone implants took the force of the blow and prevented bullet fragments from reaching her vital organs.

    The dental receptionist was at work in Beverly Hills, Calif., when a gunman burst in and opened fire.

    He first shot dead his wife before turning the gun on Carranza, who was sitting a few feet away.

    Surgeon Dr. Ashkan Ghavami said: “She’s just one lucky woman.

    “The bullet fragments were millimeters from her heart and her vital organs. Had she not had the implant, she might not be alive today.”

    Carranza’s implants took her from a B to a D-cup.

    Alleged gunman Jaime Paredes was charged with murder.

    Like

Leave a Reply

