February

Although it is the shortest month, it is jam-packed with lots to celebrate and take note of. Among other things, February is Black History Month, American Heart Month, National Children’s Dental Health Month, and National Grapefruit Month. I learn something new almost every day.

Today is officially Be an Encourager Day which kicks off National New Idea Week. This is a week to promote creativity and problem solving, two things that I certainly hope get more than a week. It is also Freedom Day which commemorates President Lincoln’s approval in 1865 of the 13th amendment outlawing slavery.

Finally, today marks the birth of poet Langston Hughes’ birth who wrote one of my favorite poems, simply called Poem:

Poem by Langston Hughes

I loved my friend.
He went away from me.
There’s nothing more to say.
The poem ends,
Soft as it began—
I loved my friend.

Leave a Reply

