December Doings

Believe it or not, December is Bingo month. I don’t know how I’ve lived as long as I have and not known that. And I kinda like Bingo.

Notable weeks in December include Human Rights Week (end of the first, beginning of the second week) and Tell Someone They’re Doing a Good Job Week (second full week). What great weeks to celebrate. Where have I been all of my life? Have I just not been paying attention? I never heard of either of those.

No, I just think the “famous” December holidays crowd out the lesser observances in the same way that they overshadow late December birthdays. Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, and Christmas, the big three, get all the attention. Christmas is helped by the post-Halloween blitz that begins in earnest on television and in malls. And it can’t ever hurt to have a celebration go on for 7 or 8 days.

The first day of winter and the shortest day of the year are on Monday the 21st, Christmas Eve is 3 days later and one week later is the last day of the year—and a full moon. Hmmmm, maybe I’ll stay in this New Years Eve; it’ll be one less one on the road.

Enjoy, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

