Viva Rio!

Congratulations to Rio de Janeiro for winning the right to host the 2016 Olympics. I was rooting for Chicago, and by extension the USA, but I must confess to rooting for Rio a little bit.

I’m a self-proclaimed underdog champion and thought it only “fair” to give them a chance to host since they never had. Furthermore, being an intrepid traveler who has been to five out of seven of the continents; I now have a reason to travel to South America to make it six out of seven. [Now all I need to do is move Antarctica to my bucket list and off the list we procrastinator’s have that rhymes with bucket.]

Like Rio, I look forward to the coming months and years to plan and prepare to write about and report on South America generally and Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in particular.

“When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”
Paulo Coelho (one of Brazil’s most successful novelist)

Leave a Reply

